Skip to content

Lilac Skies

October 5, 2012

Continuing along an existing theme of mine, this week’s photo is all about keeping your eyes open. This World War II fighter served the Canadian military through that long struggle, and decided to stretch its wings once more in peacetime. I was on a sailing trip around Vancouver Island, Canada, where I sometimes go camping. I was using a rudimentary point-and-shoot camera, in the days before I fancied myself a photographer, but when I heard the engines I managed to squeeze in this one shot before it banked over the cliffs. It was an interesting enough site to watch, but having my camera ready preserved a moment that would not have left a lasting mark otherwise, nor would I have noticed how the clouds seemed to guide the plane like an upside-down runway. Sometimes people argue against the extra weight and space a camera takes up in your bag, telling you to just sit back and enjoy the reality of the trip rather than spend it hiding behind a lens. I see where these people are coming from, and I’ve had my moments where I just had to put down the camera and appreciate the beauty in front of me as it was (though mostly because the beauty of the scene came from its sounds or smells, or was to spread out to be captured in a single sweeping shot). However, I can also think of a dozen moments that would not have slipped from my memory or been passed off as insignificant had I not been able to capture them, like the fleeting smile of a Buddhist monk. Ultimately it is your own decision as a traveler how deep into shutterbug mode you want to go, but when I am consciously working to take in every detail in order to seek out the best picture, I personally feel like I end up paying more attention, not less.

One Comment leave one →
  1. jaynnebw WILSON permalink
    October 7, 2012 9:11 am

    I have the original!!!Looking at it right now..See you when I get back!! hope you get the job and if not don’t forget the ferry job hires in Seattle in Nov.

    Quinn Wilson posted: ” Continuing along an existing theme of mine, this week’s photo is all about keeping your eyes open. This World War II fighter served the Canadian military through that long struggle, and decided to stretch its wings once more in peacetime. I was on a”

Leave a Reply

