Skip to content

Cloudtop Revelation

September 14, 2012

Image

I was in Costa Rica aboard an old bus. We had been driving through heavy fog for over an hour and I had no idea where I was. We finally took a break at a rest stop, and I stepped off the crowded bus to stretch my legs. I looked around, but still I was surrounded by a muted gray blanket of mist. Then, a sunbeam hit my face. And another. The clouds above me began to part. The crack in the sky spread downward, and the clouds parted before me to reveal a gorgeous expanse of pasture and greenery. The remaining moisture in the air diffused the sun to bask the mountains in a magical glow.

I had been driving amidst some of the most beautiful scenery in the world, but the slope was so gradual and the visibility so poor I had no idea I was even on a mountain. I know I didn’t have control of when and where the bus left, but I realized an hour could have made the difference between a boring drive and a breathtaking view. Especially when in an unfamiliar place, you don’t always know what’s right in front of you. There is so much to see and experience everywhere you go, and if you just try to blow through a spot you might miss something amazing. Our lifestyles are so punctual, we always seem to be in a rush. But if you can spare the time and relax for a bit, especially when traveling, the country might crack open the blinds for a moment and let you in on something really special.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. September 14, 2012 3:15 pm

    The scenery there is just great.

    • September 15, 2012 12:20 am

      It definitely was. Point the camera just about anywhere in a place this beautiful and you’re bound to get something good.

  2. September 14, 2012 3:51 pm

    Amazing shot!

  3. September 17, 2012 8:28 pm

    Beautiful clouds and color!

Leave a Reply

