Skip to content

Dreams of Backpacking Europe

September 3, 2012

As a recent college graduate, I am stuck in a bizarre place, between few obligations (no apartment lease for one thing) but also no money. Combine that with a feverish desire to go backpacking in Europe, and I’ve got myself a young adult crisis!

Still, the desire to go backpacking has essentially occupied my free time for the past few weeks. Not only does it seem to be a rite of passage for recent graduates, I have spent this summer reading  status updates and looking through photo albums of happy friends exploring Europe (curse you Facebook!). Thus, I am now determined to see this through.

Not only that, but we, the writers of Passport Epilogues, have decided to take this trip together! After 4 years of discussing and sharing travel adventures, Quinn and I have decided to work to make this a reality. Where, when, and how remains to be seen, but there is nothing to hold you to a backpacking adventure like a friend who also desperately wants to leave the country. Plus we could color in more countries on the map in our sidebar!

Plus we could even catch our own food!

I’ve been looking at several resources to work on planning my own trip that I think would be helpful if anyone is in the same area of uncertainty as I am. One is the 47 European cities by price: European Backpacker Index for 2012. While I would love to tackle Italy, Germany, and some other more expensive areas, traveling through Eastern Europe seems like a blast and could prolong the trip due to cheaper prices. Since I have already seen Paris, it’s a place I would be willing to skip if it meant I could visit one or two new countries.

This index rates countries by considering costs for a day in each city including, one night in a well-reviewed hostel (which it links to for your convenience), two public transportation rides, one attraction, 3 meals a day, and an entertainment stipend. I have found this to be incredibly helpful in deciding between 2 cities in one country, as well as highly informative in comparing costs, having only toured France before.

For backpacking blogs and how-tos, I have been checking out The Savvy Backpacker. Not only is this blog well laid out and easy on the eyes, it covers a huge range of topics including packing, hostels, couch surfing, and staying on a budget. There is even advice on choosing your backpack! Check it out if you are also interested!

We plan on keeping our readers updated with the status on our trip, our struggles saving money, as well as any other cool resources we find! You can also check out my top 10 cities I want to visit below.

Top 10 Cities (in no particular order. May be subject to change depending on my mood)

  1. Athens, Greece
  2. Istanbul, Turkey
  3. Zagreb, Croatia
  4. Lisbon, Portugal
  5. Berlin, Germany
  6. Madrid, Spain
  7. Amsterdam, Netherlands
  8. Florence, Italy
  9. Krakow, Poland
  10. Budapest, Hungary

Has anyone else wanted to go backpacking or even been backpacking in Europe and have some advice? What would be your top 10 cities?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 3, 2012 10:41 pm

    Hey, consider adding Prague to the list…

    • September 4, 2012 8:59 am

      Thank you for the suggestion! It looks beautiful! Have you been before?

Leave a Reply

